Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Okay...

The Wife is about 20 weeks along now. She is doing well and has been feeling the baby "kick" for a few weeks. She said, "I am not sure why they call it kicking because I am sure it is doing more than that. At least it feels like it anyway." Or something like that. Also, that baby appears to really like Beck. We were at the Nickless-Gourley's the other night enjoying some Rock Band and she was playing drums on Beck's "E-Pro." According to the Wife, Bilbo* was having a great time.

I am off from work this week. In stead of monetary compensation in the form of a bonus, FL** decided to give us this week off with pay. So, I left work December 24th and do not return until January 5th. While I do enjoy not working, I would have preferred they give us cash. On the other hand, I was able to get a lot of things done yesterday that have been needing to be done for a while. Maybe time off is a good thing.

The holidays have been fun. Exhausting but fun. We have finished rewatching Lost season 4 and are about to start on the Extra Features. Man, Lost is a wonderful show. I forgot how good last season was. I am very excited for Season 5 to start on January 21st. I believe it is going to be a three-hour event-thing. The first hour at 8 will be a recap type show and then the two-hour premier at 9. I plan on watch all three hours.

So, do you have any resolutions? Yeah, me neither. Well, good luck, be safe and God bless. See you next year or some other lame expression.

Thank you for your time.

One Pissed-off Hobbit

*For future reference, the baby will be referred to as Bilbo.
**For future reference, my place of employment, Finelight, will be referred to as FL

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Everything is going to change...

The wife is pregnant. She is about 19 weeks along, give or take a few days. I/we have waited to tell everyone for a few reasons. First, we wanted to wait until she was at least out of the first trimester. There is a much higher chance of miscarriage/problems during that time so we wanted to wait until we were out of those woods. It would be difficult to tell people and be all excited and then have to explain if something were to happen. We did not want to go through that nor put anyone else through that. Holly is doing very well and is very healthy, as is the child.

Second, it was/is kind embarrassing to talk about. There is only one place babies come from and we did not really want to discuss that with other people. I am sure you understand. Our reproductive life is really no one's business.

And finally, we agreed to take a pretty religious approach to it. It was mainly my doing but she agreed. From the Jewish faith (which I am not but respect greatly) there is such a thing as not presuming on God's will. Any time I refer to the would-be child I use the phrase, "God willing." It is not a superstitious thing, it is a religious thing. I do not want to speak or act in such a way that presumes on God's will. As such, we are not discussing names with anyone else and we are not accepting gifts from anyone until right before or after it is born, God willing, depending on the gift. I know this may sound weird or cold but it is not. I find it very liberating, actually. Also, we do not have a very big house and we would not have a place to store it before the child is born, God willing. People like to smile and say, "well, I am going to give you a gift for the baby anyway." Why? Why do you not want to honor our wishes regarding our child? Just like with our wedding, people tried to horn in and tell us how to do it. Why, is it your wedding? Are you having the baby? Please, let us do what we think is best for us and do not tell us what we ought to do. Thank you. Oh, we are not going to find out the sex, either. We like surprises.

So, there you go. Just to recap: Holly is about 19 weeks pregnant, she is doing very well, we will not learn the sex, please do not buy us anything until we ask for it.

Thank you.

One Pissed-off Hobbit

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

I am an animal lover. I am not ashamed to be a man and love my cats. Our big male, Phantom, is my buddy. I love hanging out with him watching football or just relaxing reading a book. Our littler female, Maggie, is perhaps the cutest thing ever to be born. Ever.

So, with me and the wife being such big animal lovers, we obviously abhor pet stores. Strong language I know but I mean it. We abhor them. The very idea of profiting from the selling of animals makes me very angry. There is a pet store in the mall here in Bloom Francisco and it really pisses me off. I can not even walk on that side of the isle knowing that it is there.

Which brings me to breeders. Are you serious? There are people who make their living forcing animals to mate and then selling their offspring? Really? This is the best they can do? Their own lives are so empty that they have to fill it by cramming more animals into an already over-populated society? Why on earth do these people think this is a good idea? I will tell you why. Because people will buy them, that is why. People do not usually continue to do something that is unprofitable. There has to be some payoff for them to keep doing it and the payoff is, surprise, money. The animals are not even animals to these people, they are commodities. They are goods to be bought and sold but not living, breathing animals. I know what you thinking, "Well, we bought Mr. Sniggles from a great breeder down on the old Johnson farm and he has been nothing but great." Well, good for you, you beat the system. Really healthy and happy dogs VERY RARELY come from breeders. Usually, breeders keep their goods...er...I mean animals, trapped in too small cages for way too many hours. The animal is only allowed out when it is time to mate or for just a tiny bit of exercise. If you do more than three seconds of research into dog breeders you will see pictures and videos that will bring you to tears. Full grown dogs kept in tiny cages barely able to stand because they are so hungry and neglected. They would feed the dogs but that would cut into their profits and we can not have that. No siree. And more often than not, the animals you will buy from the breeder are going to be unhealthy or develop severe health problems. You see, the natural health problems that that particular breed has are being reinforced over and over again. It is only by cross-breeding them are you going to get away from those health problems. That is way mutts are usually healthier than pure-bred dogs. Usually.

So, how can we stop breeders? STOP BUYING FROM THEM! Stop it! Stop thinking of animals as accessories. "Oh, I have to have a labradoodleshnoodlepuglewuglefuckinthing. I just have to." No, you do not. Do you have any idea how many animals are put to death every year at your local animal shelter? Probably more than you think. There are far too many animals that only want someone to love and to love them. There are already too many animals and breeders are only adding to the problem. If you stop buying from them, they will no longer be profitable. And if they are no longer profitable, they will have to find some other line of work. Please, please, please if you are thinking about acquiring a new cat or dog, visit your local shelter. The animals there are already neutered and have had their shots and everything. All the work has been done for you. All you have to do is show up and pick your new best friend. "For every animal of the forest is mine, and the cattle on a thousand hills. I know every bird in the mountains, and the creatures of the field are mine. Praise the lord from the earth you great sea creatures…wild animals and cattle, small creatures and flying birds…let them praise the name of the Lord for His name alone is exalted; His splendor is above the earth and the heavens. Praise the Lord!" (Psalm 50:10; 148:7-14)

Again, I am sorry for the rambling nature of this post. I promise, as I get more of my anger out, I will refine it down and make it easier to read.

Thank you for your time.

One Pissed-off Hobbit

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

First of all...

How in the world is it any of your business who I would like to marry? I happen to be a heterosexual, white male and wanted to marry a heterosexual, white female. And because of that it is totally cool with everyone that we married. Now, if I had been a homosexual male and wanted to marry another homosexual male, that would have really set some people off. Why? Did I get freaked out and protest when Britney wanted to marry that guy for fun a few years ago and then get a divorce? Did I get freaked out and protest when she did it again a few years later? No. Do you know why? BECAUSE IT IS NONE OF MY DAMN BUSINESS! NONE! Why would I care what Britney is doing? Similarly, why would anyone in their right mind think it is any of their business what two consenting adults are doing to and with each other in their free time? These people are not hurting anyone. They are not trying to force you to gay marry. They are trying to express their love and commitment for each other within the model that has been set before them. Sure, there are flaws in the model but it is the only one we have. Please, for the love of God, just leave them alone. There are far greater battles to be fought then trying to deny these poor people happiness. If you truly want to make a difference in the world go volunteer at a soup kitchen or humane society. Work with Big Brothers Big Sisters or donate money to the Red Cross. There are far, FAR more pressing matters that deserve your attention. And, no, God does not hate homosexuals anymore than he hates anyone else. “God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him” (1 John 4:16)

Sorry for the rambling nature of this post. Sometimes I just can not control it.

Thank you for your time.

One Pissed-off Hobbit

Monday, December 15, 2008

I hate damn near everything.

Love you.