Thursday, January 15, 2009

Projects...

Okay, I do not know if any of you have watched either Dr Horrible's Sing-Along Blog or The Guild but I will give you some time to go do that now. I would suggest watching Season 1 of The Guild before watching season 2.




So, what did you think. First, Neil Patrick Harris is dreamy. Second, he is incredibly talented. I really like Dr Horrible's Sing-Along Blog but I identify more with The Guild. As a gamer, I can relate to thinking of things not in real-world terms. Sometimes it is a little hard to differentiate between the two. Eh...

Anyway, the reason I bring these two programs up is that they are of great inspiration to me. They were both made with no money and very little equipment. Both were totally created as labors of love and went on to blossom into really wonderful things. Joss Whedon, of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly fame, started getting the idea for DHS-AB during the Writers' strike last year. He wanted to do something totally web-based to prove that it was a viable medium to work in. He wanted to do something without the help or hindrance of a studio. At the same time, Felicia Day, was already writing and starring in The Guild, a moderatly successful web-based comedy. The two met by chance on the picket line and thus, DHS-AB was born.

You see, with my TComm production degree and access to many wonderfully talented people around me, not to mention production equipment, I see no reason to not create some sort of Internet series of my own. So, this Sunday, Kathryn, Mr. Mongoose and myself are meeting to start brainstorming ideas for production. We are thinking of following the The Guild format and making them about four to six minutes long. I will let you know what we come up with. Feel free to leave me your ideas.

Also, today's music, films and television sucks. I miss the old days of television when there were programs worth watching. Now, it is all reality bull-shit that is not the least realistic. No one really acts or talks like that, do they? What a bunch of morons. God, and the music is getting even worse, if you can call it that. What happened to real musicians playing real instruments? Or real singers singing real songs? Now all you need is the right program and you are a "musician." What a crock of shit. Give me Frank, Dean, Sammy and Ella any old day. You can keep your Britney, Young Jeazy, Lady Ga Ga and Justin. What a bunch of crap. And, there is not one thing at the theater that I am remotely interesting in seeing. Not one thing. I do not think that has ever happened in my life. Could there be a worse crop of garbage? I think I am officially old. Is that possible? Can you be over the hill at 30?


Thank you for your time.

One Pissed-Off Hobbit

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

No idea...

Well, first of all, Bilbo is fine. We found out this morning that it is developing normally. It has a fully formed brain, four-chambered heart, lungs and stomach are working appropriately, etc. Also, the Wife is progressing well and her blood pressure is very good. So, there you go.

Second of all, I have no idea how I feel. I am very excited and very scared at the same time. I was showing the ultrasound to a few friends at work and I actually became somewhat of a proud father. Somewhat. But, then it hit me again, "Holy Shit, this thing is coming." There is no pause button, there are no rerolls, come Hell or high water, this baby is coming. God willing. We are pretty bright people and I am sure we will be fine but we have no experience at this. She helped take care of younger cousins and stuff but nothing with this kind of duration. I think I watched my nephew all of twice when he was growing up and never for more than a few hours. This is going to be a learn-on-the-job type of deal. Again, no time outs, no do-overs, just keep going and learn from your mistakes. I am very happy and excited because there are a lot of things I want to do with this child and a lot of things I want to teach it. Conversely, I do not want to screw it up or have it hate me. Both very possible outcomes. So, there you have my baby rant. I promise I will not do that again.

In other news, I continue to hate people. I had a co-worker tell me all about how he went to a breeder to buy a several hundred dollar dog that his wife just had to have. He could not remember what kind it was because it was MADE UP! It was one of those damned designer dogs like a Labrodoodleoodlepug or something. Really? Your wife 'had to have" one so you just ran out and bought it? Really? Did you do ANY amount of research at all or did you just blindly say, "yes, dear", wipe the drool from your lip and shuffle off to buy it. Are you that unthinking that you just follow directions regardless of their outcome. He was actually proud that he was able to get it so cheaply. Proud. It made me sick and I excused myself back to my office to seethe. I considered explaining the breeder/animal shelter relationship but the damage had already been done. He was glowing with pride at his accomplishment. What a waste. If it ever comes up again, which I am fairly confident that it will, I will take the time to explain how the humane association would have been a much better choice. Until that time, I will just follow up on the dogs health and make sure everything is okay with it. Hopefully they did not get a sick or diseased dog. Hopefully it is healthy and they dodged a bullet. Hopefully.

Okay, well, I hope everyone is doing well in the new year. Good luck and take care of each other.

Thank you for your time.

One Pissed-off Hobbit